Vector nation

Recently, someone asked me what vector art was. I was shocked–doesn’t everyone know what a vector graphic is?

And then I realized that I didn’t have a clue how to explain it, even though I handle vector images every time I tackle a new design project. So I looked it up and here’s what I found:

What:

  • Not made up of pixels, like JPEG/BMP (raster images)–instead, vector art is created through the use of paths (each ‘path’ has a beginning and end point) EXAMPLE OF DIFFERENCE BETWEEN RASTER AND VECTOR:

  • Paths can make up simple or complex images

Why:

  • Use vector art for drawings that may need to be re-sized according to which platform the image is being viewed on (ex. needs to be smaller to view on a smart phone than on a tablet)
  • Ideal for images that are eventually going to be printed. The best example of why this is true is that the image will look the same if it was created for a business card and then eventually enlarged to print on a billboard.

How:

  • You can create vector art with a number of vector graphics editors; my favorite of which is Adobe Illustrator (for a number of reasons)

 

